SOMC Forms Local AACN Chapter


These are the members of the Sawnee Valley Chapter of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. Standing in the back (l to r): Nancy Jacobs, Connie Florek (secretary), Kerry Greathouse (treasurer), Christy Aeh, Linda Horner, Paul Rase, Becky Kalb, Tina Moore, Phyllis Theiken, Tony Smith. S

Several employees of Southern Ohio Medical Center’s Heart and Critical Care Services have teamed up to form the Shawnee Valley Chapter of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). The group met for the first time July 27 to discuss member recruitment, educational opportunities and chapter planning.

According to the AACN website, The American Association of Critical-Care Nurses is the world’s largest specialty nursing organization and has been serving the needs of nurses caring for acutely and critically ill patients since 1969. Representing the interests of more than 500,000 nurses who care for acutely and critically ill patients, AACN is dedicated to creating a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families, where acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution.

The goals of the local chapter are to increas
“There are many benefits to becoming a national and local AACN chapter member,” Teresa Barnett, president of the Shawnee Valley AACN chapter, said. “In addition to free continuing education units (CEU’s) available to members online, nurses will also receive CEU’s and in-services at chapter meetings.”e membership, form and participate in community events, develop fundraisers for education events and promote speakers for educational meetings. Involvement in the chapter will provide opportunities to interact with peers from different work settings and to advocate for patients, community and nurses.

The next meeting will be held at 7:30 p.m. August 31 in the SOMC Heart and Vascular conference room and membership is open to local nurses. The group will meet on the fourth Tuesday of every month.

For more information or to join the Shawnee Valley Chapter of the AACN, please contact Teresa Barnett at (740)-356-8263.

itting in the front (l to r): Sharon Rawlins (president-elect), Teresa Barnett (president) and Stacey Dotson.